The Echuca Aboriginal Co-operative was established by the hard work and political efforts of many of our Elders who saw a need for a community controlled organisation to run culturally appropriate services. We first set up the Echuca Aboriginal Co-operative in the Milewa Chambers in 1974, in 1990 the name was changed to the Njernda Aboriginal Corporation, Njernda means ”to know our living culture” in the Wemba Wemba language of northern Victoria, Southern NSW. Like many other Aboriginal co-operatives across Australia, we believe in a holistic view of health that recognises the inter-connectedness of body, mind and spirit… not just of the individual but of their family and the community. This means we work across a range of program areas including housing, employment, cultural heritage, education, child care and health.

Introducing Njernda Aboriginal Corporation’s Board Members and Members of Staff.

Each year 7 Board Members are selected, our current boards Members are:

  • Kevin Williams ~ Chairperson
  • Teresa Edwards
  • Gordon Johnson
  • Baymos Handy
  • Lee Wanganeen
  • Sonia McLaughlin
  • Vera Cooper

Staff Members




Anne Munzel – Practice Manager

Diana Stephenson – Finance /Corporate Manager

Hazel Hudson – Family Services Manager

John Mitchell – Deputy C.E.O

Karlene Dwyer – Chief Executive Officer

Kristie Hearn – Executive Assistant

Leona Cooper – Berrimba Childcare Coordinator

Nadine Wright – Baroona Youth Healing Centre Manager

Njernda Administration Staff

Diana Stephenson – Finance/Corporate Manager

Janelle Handy – Accounts Payable

Kyle Egan – Junior Finance Assistant

Laura Hudson ~ Finance Assistant

Lyn Hearn – Payroll Officer

Njernda Medical Centre Staff

Anne Munzel – Practice Manager

Bec Tracey – Aboriginal Health Worker

Bradley McGrath – Medical Driver

Garry Giles – Aboriginal Health Worker

Jennine Atkinson - Dual Diagnosis Worker

Jenny Brown – Child Maternal Health

Judith Murray – Quality Improvement Worker

Kelli Bartlett - Health Promotion

Kim Warde – Midwife

Maria Isgro – Medical Receptionist

Mavis Egan – Care Plan Co-Ordinator

Megan Black – Receptionist

Tony Fitzpatrick – Drug & Alcohol Worker

Trish Ebert – Midwife

Vivien Giles – Trainee Health Worker

SAAP Program

Alva Connelly – SAAP/Crisis Worker

Wade Austin – SAAP/Crisis Worker

HACC Program

Janice Day – HACC Worker

Robert Russell – ABI/HACC Worker

Vicki Walker – Regional HACC Worker

General Practitioners

Dr Alfred Song (Male) - GP, Emergency Medicine

Dr Carolyn Siddel (Female) - commencing 5.2.18

Dr Jerry Wong (Male) - Obstetrics

Dr Muhammed Shihab (Male) -- Obstetrics

Dr Sujay Chandraiah (Male)

Njernda Family Services Staff

Alkina Edwards – Intake & Assessment Worker

Corey Wanganeen – Community Justice Worker

Hazel Hudson – Family Service Manager

Khayla Wanganeen ~ Community Engagment Worker (Temp)

Kylie Ryland – Family Service Worker

Rhonda Ronnan – Kinship Care Worker

Sheadeen Hearn – Out of Home Care Worker

Tegan Wanganeen – Youth Justice Worker

Vicki Mitchell – AFLDM Worker

Yakapna Healing Centre

Brendan Johnson – Support Worker

Cheryl Taylor – Casual

Gail Hearn – Casual

Karlisha Mitchel – Casual

Paula Thomas – Support Worker

Shelley Atkinson – Casual

Simone Ronnan – Yakapna Manager

Njernda Mental Health Unit

Gilbert Wanganeen – Social, Emotional Wellbeing Worker

Baroona Healing Centre Staff

Adam Kissell - Community Support Worker

Boyden Johnson - Social Community Service Worker

Brodie Dorgan – Social Community Service Worker

Brody Atkinson – Social Community Service Worker

Darcy Ronnan – Social Community Service Worker

Mark Colville – Social Community Service Worker

Nadine Wright – Centre Manager

Noel Scott - Social Community Service Worker

Rick Ronnan Jnr – Social Community Service Worker

Robert Saunders - Social Community Service Worker

Uncle Des Morgan - Social Community Service Worker

Njernda Cleaning Staff

Megan Andrews – Cleaner

Trish McGrath – Njernda Medical

Njernda Maintenance Staff

Michael Hudson – Supervisor

Phillip Atkinson

Berrimba Childcare Staff

Amba Rhind - Kindergarten Teacher

Casey McHale ~ Lead Educator Babies

Cath Andrews ~ Lead Educator 3-5yrs

Gabby Johnson ~ Cradle to Kinder

Graeme Kissell ~ Bus Driver

Jennah Ferris - Educator

Kaiella Bulled ~ Trainee Receptionist

Karen Firebrace ~ Educator

Kylie Goddard - Lead Educator Afterschool/Holiday Program

Leona Cooper ~ Early Years Manager

Marley Day ~ Kinder Assistant

Molly Handy - Educator

Sharni Celli ~ Educational Leader

Sissy Cooper ~ Koori Pre School Assistant

Skye Cemino - Educator

Tamika Morgan ~ Cook

Therese Shelley ~ Lead Educator Toddlers

Best Start Co-Ordinator

Tina Thompson